2015 The Galaxy Field, Barriers & Odds

The Galaxy Handicap

Held annually towards the end of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival, The Galaxy Handicap 2016 is a high quality Group 1 event for sprinters.

The 2016 Galaxy Handicap was taken out by Sweet Idea ahead of Kuro and Miracles Of Life.The Galaxy Handicap

Special Offer:
Get up to $500 in Bonus Bet* from Ladbrokes

Taking place at the prestigious Rosehill Gardens Racecourse, The Galaxy sees some of the best sprinters in the country line up over 1100 metres to compete for a share of $400,000 in prize money.

The Galaxy Handicap 2016 will be run on Rosehill Guineas Day, March 19.

Given its Group 1 status, The Galaxy attracts classy horses and the best trainers in the business often have entrants including Gai Waterhouse, John O’Shea and Peter Moody.

The Galaxy Handicap History

First run in 1972, The Galaxy was initially held over six furlongs (1200m) before changing to its current distance of 1100 metres the following year.

In 1980 The Galaxy the event was upgraded to a Group 2 event before gaining status as an elite level Group 1 sprint in 1984.

The most successful performer in The Galaxy is Grey Receiver who won the event back-to-back in 1981-82.

Recent winners of The Galaxy include Temple Of Boom (2012), Atomic Force (2011), Shellscrape (2010), Nicconi (2009), Typhoon Zed (2008) and Magnus (2007).

The Galaxy Handicap Controversy

The 2010 Galaxy was clouded with controversy after well-known sprinter Ortensia was eventually disqualified after crossing the line in front. Following a four month inquiry, Ortensia was stripped of the win for failing a drug test leaving The Galaxy title to be awarded to Shellscrape.

The Galaxy Handicap Field

The Galaxy field is generally not as strong as that which contests the Group 1 T.J. Smith Stakes later in the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival, but always features a number of leading sprinters. Because it is run under handicap conditions, The Galaxy gives sprinters who are not quiet good enough to compete at weight-for-age level the opportunity to score a win at the highest level of racing. The Galaxy field generally features between 12 and 15 runners and is always a competitive betting event.

The Galaxy Handicap Betting

The Galaxy Handicap is generally a tough race for punters and no favourite has won the race since Spark Of Life claimed victory in the 2004 edition of the race. There have been plenty of blowouts in past editions of The Galaxy; with Manuan (1985), Magic Of Money (1995), Masked Party (1999), Padstow (2001), Proprietor (2006) and Shellscrape (2010) all winning the race at lucrative odds.


The Galaxy Winners

Year Horse
2016 TBD
2015 Sweet Ideae
2014 Tiger Tees
2013 Bel Sprinter
2012 Temple Of Boom
2011 Atomic Force
2010 Shellscrape
2009 Nicconi
2008 Typhoon Zed
2007 Magnus
2006 Proprietor
2005 Charge Forward
2004 Spark Of Life
2003 Snowland
2002 Mistegic
2001 Padstow
2000 Black Bean
1999 Masked Party
1998 La Baraka
1997 Accomplice
1996 Gold Ace
1995 Magic Of Money
1994 Jetball
1993 Sublimate
1992 Schillaci
1991 Mr Tiz
1990 Potrero
1989 Targlish
1988 Snippets
1987 Princely Heart
1986 Rich Fields Lad
1985 Manuan
1984 Mr Illusion
1983 Bronze Spirit
1982 Grey Receiver
1981 Grey Receiver
1980 Hit It Benny
1979 Mistress Anne
1978 Luskin Star
1977 Salaam
1976 Wayne’s Bid
1975 Bletchingly
1974 Starglow
1973 Kista
1972 Playbill

The Galaxy Handicap News

Trainer Matthew Dale is yet to settle on a specific path for Fell Swoop through the approaching Autumn Carnival, but has confirmed the 2016 The Galaxy (1100m) as likely-to-be the major target for his stable star this time. Fell Swoop has been a standout performer for Dale since first appearing…